LCD'07 : Workshop on Logics and Collective Decision making

Erasmus International Institute MSH Nord-Pas-de-Calais
March 13-14, 2007, Lille, France


Abstracts of all talks


We would like to welcome you to a workshop on the connections between logics and collective decision making theories that is to take place in Lille on March 13-14, 2007.

Group decision-making problems occur each time a collective choice has to be made from several individuals who have conflicting interests or preferences. There has recently been a growing interest in the use of logic as the basic tool âfor formalizing and computing those problems. This is particularly true of two close fields of research. The first one lies at the intersection of game theory and logics, especially by exploring how modal logics may be used to model and reason about games. A second one, which focuses on the logical insights into rational collective choice, has recently emerged around issues of judgment aggregation and beliefs/goals merging, on the one hand, and logical formalization of welfare distribution processes (social software), on the other. These two domains propose further formal refinements, using logical tools, of the classical theories of collective decision-making, by offering new evaluation criteria of and new ways of building social choice procedures. These new insights into these collective decision-making theories also offer new perspective to political philosophy and ethics. The workshop aims at sparking off interaction between social choice theorists, computer scientists, logicians and philosophers.

The workshop will take place at the University of Lille 3, Villeneuve d'Ascq, France.

Invited Speakers

Ken Binmore (DE, University College London)
Franz Dietrich (University of Maastricht and LSE)
Wiebe van der Hoek (DCS, University of Liverpool)
Gabriella Pigozzi (CSC, University of Luxembourg)


The aim of this workshop is to promote interaction between researchers in the areas of logics and collective decision-making theories.

We invite submissions of abstracts in the interface of the above or related areas that investigate common problems. A non-exhaustive list of topics of interest include

  • logics of collective decision-making and social software
  • belief merging and judgment aggregation
  • game-theoretical and social-choice theoretical insights into logics and into the philosophy of logics
  • logics and deliberative democracy
  • preference representation and social choice
  • choice and game theory in political philosophy and ethics
  • formal perspective in politics and ethics
  • epistemic foundations of solution concepts and reasoning in bargaining games
  • multi-agents resource allocation procedures

Submission details
Authors should send an abstract (in pdf or postscript) to by February, 8th. Submissions should typically be 3 pages long (excluding bibliographical references). There will be no published proceedings, so there is no copyright problem for already published presenting works. The mail should mention the authors' names, affiliations and current positions. We strongly encourage PhD students to submit, as we might organize a student session. ‰Notification of acceptance will be given by February, 15th.

Important Dates

Submission of AbstractsFebruary 8, 2007
Notification of AcceptanceFebruary 20, 2007
Early RegistrationMarch 1, 2007
LCD'07 WorkshopMarch 13-14, 2007

Participants will be invited to submit full original papers in the interface of the areas of logics and collective decision making theories for a publication in the Springer serie Logic, Epistemology, and the Unity of Science directed by Shahid Rahman.

Program Committee

Thomas Ågotnes (Bergen University College)
Salem Benferhat (CRIL, University of Artois)
Johan van Benthem (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Cristina Bicchieri (University of Pennsylvania)
Giacomo Bonanno (University of California)
Laurence Broze (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Patrice Canivez (STL, University of Lille)
Samir Chopra (Brooklyn College of the City University of New York)
Franz Dietrich (University of Maastricht and LSE)
Ulle Endriss (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Marc Fleurbaey (CERSES, University of Paris 5)
Thibault Gajdos (Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne, University of Paris 1)
Andreas Herzig (IRIT, University of Toulouse)
Wiebe van der Hoek (University of Liverpool)
Hubert Jayet (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Frédéric Jouneau (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Sébastien Konieczny (CRIL, University of Artois) (co-chair)
Barteld Kooi (University of Groningen)
Jérôme Lang (IRIT, University of Toulouse)
Christian List (LSE)
Pierre Marquis (CRIL, University of Artois)
Nicolas Maudet (University of Paris 9)
Eric Pacuit (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Rohit Parikh (Brooklyn College of the City University of New York)
Marc Pauly (Stanford University)
Philip Pettit (Princeton University)
Gabriella Pigozzi (University of Luxembourg)
Shahid Rahman (STL, University of Lille) (co-chair)
Maurice Salles (CREM, University of Caen)
Jean-Christophe Vergnaud (EUREQua, University of Paris 1)
John Weymark (Vanderbilt University)
Mike Wooldridge (University of Liverpool)

Organizing Committee
  • Cédric Dégremont (STL, University of Lille and ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
  • Patricia Everaere (CRIL, University of Artois)
  • Emmanuel Genot (STL, University of Lille)
  • Emeline Huart (MSH Nord-Pas-de-Calais)
  • Laurent Keiff (STL, Unversity of Lille)

You can contact us via

page mise à jour le 2/03/07